Here are some useful guides to help you evaluate information you find on the web:
The Writing Center offers writing help to all DCTC students, including help with citing your sources. You can schedule an appointment by calling 651-423-8420 or visiting the Learning Center, room 2-141L.
How to Cite Your Sources
There are different styles for citing the sources you use in your assignments. Your instructor will let you know whether to use APA, Chicago, MLA, or some other style.
Here are some introductory guides to these styles from the Purdue Online Writing Lab:
- Purdue OWL: APA Formatting and Style Guide
- Purdue OWL: Chicago Manual of Style 16th Edition
- Purdue OWL: MLA Formatting and Style Guide
Our catalog and most databases provide citations for the books, videos, and articles you find in them. Just look for a link that says Cite or Citation, then select the appropriate style. It's easy to copy and paste citations into your bibliography!
"Plagiarism includes, but is not limited to, the use, by paraphrase or direct quotation, of the published or unpublished work of another person without full and clear acknowledgment. It also includes the unacknowledged use of materials prepared by another person or agency engaged in the selling of term papers or other academic materials."
This definition of plagiarism comes from page 1 of DCTC's Student Code of Conduct. See how easy that was?
Citing your sources is an essential step in the research process. This allows others to verify your information and gives credit to previous researchers and writers for their hard work.
Welcome to the DCTC Library's Interpersonal Communication course guide. This guide will help you to
- find online reference resources
- find books, videos, ebooks, and streaming videos
- find magazine, journal, and newspaper articles
- identify trustworthy information on the web
- and cite your sources
We have many interpersonal communication books in our collection. Some of these are on reserve and must be used in the Library, but they'll always be here when you need them.
Our Catalog: OneSearch
Use our catalog, OneSearch, to find the books and videos on our shelves, plus ebooks and streaming videos. Our EBSCO eBook Collection includes more than 214,000 ebooks, many of which have to do with interpersonal communication. Our Films On Demand collection includes nearly 45,000 streaming videos.
The best way to begin your search is to enter one or two keywords on your topic. To narrow your results, use the Modify My Results options on the left side of the screen. You can also click on a relevant title and click on one of its subject headings to focus your search on that particular topic.
Our collection is organized by Library of Congress call numbers. If you like to browse, most books and videos about interpersonal communication are shelved in the BF637, HF5718, HM132, and HM1106-1171, call number ranges. Ask a librarian if you need help finding anything.
If we don't have what you're looking for, you can expand your search to include all libraries in the Minnesota State system or even all libraries in Minnesota. You can request books, videos, and articles from other libraries through interlibrary loan (ILL) and we'll e-mail you when the items are ready to pick up here at the DCTC Library. Ask a librarian if you have any questions.
Below you'll find just a few of our many Online Resources for finding magazine, newspaper, and journal articles. The best way to begin your search is to enter one or two keywords on your topic. Each database is different, but there will be ways to limit and focus your results so that you find the most relevant and useful articles available.
Our EBSCO databases are an excellent place to start your search for magazine and journal articles.
Please visit the Library or contact us if you have any questions about our online resources or if you'd like help finding articles on your topic.
Here are just a few of the ebooks you'll find in our collection:
LearningExpress Library is an outstanding resource for academic and career development with hundreds of online tutorials, practice tests, and ebooks.
The Computer Skills Center module includes video courses on Microsoft Access, Excel, and other Office programs.
The Career Center module includes ebooks to help you with your job search, interviewing, networking, and workplace skills.
The College Center module can help you develop your math, reading, writing, and science skills.
During Stay-At-Home Order:
Fall & Spring Semesters:
Monday - Thursday:
7:30 AM to 5:00 PM
7:30 AM to 3:30 PM
Monday - Thursday:
8:00 AM to 1:00 PM