Here are some useful guides to help you evaluate information you find on the web:
- Evaluating Information: How to evaluate information, from social media to scholarly articles (Johns Hopkins University)
- Evaluating Print vs. Internet Sources (Purdue University)
- Evaluating Resources (UC Berkeley)
Write Your Paper
The Center for Student Success offers tutoring to all DCTC students, including help with writing your paper and citing your sources. You can schedule an appointment by calling 651-423-8657 or visiting room 2-101.
Cite Your Sources
There are different styles for citing the sources you use in your assignments. Your instructor will let you know whether to use APA, Chicago, MLA, or some other style.
Here are some introductory guides to these styles from the Purdue Online Writing Lab:
- Purdue OWL: APA Formatting and Style Guide
- Purdue OWL: Chicago Manual of Style 17th Edition
- Purdue OWL: MLA Formatting and Style Guide
Our catalog and most databases provide citations for the books, videos, and articles you find in them. Just look for a link that says Cite or Citation, then select the appropriate style. It's easy to copy and paste citations into your bibliography!
"Plagiarism includes, but is not limited to, the use, by paraphrase or direct quotation, of the published or unpublished work of another person without full and clear acknowledgment. It also includes the unacknowledged use of materials prepared by another person or agency engaged in the selling of term papers or other academic materials."
This definition of plagiarism comes from page 1 of DCTC's Student Code of Conduct. See how easy that was?
Citing your sources is an essential step in the research process. This allows others to verify your information and gives credit to previous researchers and writers for their hard work.
Fall & Spring Semesters:
Monday - Thursday:
7:30 AM to 5:00 PM
7:30 AM to 3:30 PM
Monday - Thursday:
8:00 AM to 1:00 PM
Welcome to the DCTC Library's Practical Nursing subject guide. This guide will help you to
- find online reference resources
- find books, videos, ebooks, and streaming videos
- find magazine, journal, and newspaper articles
- identify trustworthy information on the web
- and cite your sources
Our Catalog: OneSearch
Use our catalog, OneSearch, to find books and videos in our collection. More than 192,000 ebooks from our EBSCO eBooks Collection are also available through our catalog. Many of these ebooks have to do with nursing. More than 54,000 streaming videos from our Films On Demand database are also included in our catalog.
The best way to begin your search is to enter one or two keywords on your topic. To narrow your results, use the Modify My Results options on the left side of the screen. You can also click on a relevant title and click on one of its subject headings to focus your search on that particular topic.
Our collection is organized by Library of Congress call numbers. If you like to browse, most books and videos about nursing are shelved in the RM and RT call number ranges. Ask a librarian if you need help finding anything.
If we don't have what you're looking for, you can expand your search to include all libraries in the Minnesota State system or even all libraries in Minnesota. You can request items from other libraries through interlibrary loan (ILL). You'll receive a notice when the items are ready to pick up here at the DCTC Library. Ask a librarian if you have any questions.
We have online access to many nursing journals through our online resources.
Below you'll find just a few of our many Online Resources for finding magazine, newspaper, and journal articles. The best way to begin your search is to enter one or two keywords on your topic. Each database is different, but there will be ways to limit and focus your results so that you find the most relevant and useful articles available.
Our EBSCO databases are an excellent place to start your search for magazine and journal articles. One of these databases is CINAHL: Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature.
Please visit the Library or contact us if you have any questions about our databases or if you'd like help finding articles on your topic.
- American Nurses Association
- Minnesota Board of Nursing
- Minnesota Licensed Practical Nurses Association
- National Association of Licensed Professional Nurses (NALPN)
- National Council of State Boards of Nursing
- National League for Nursing
- Physicians' Desk Reference / Prescribers' Digital Reference (PDR)
Here are just a few of the ebooks you'll find in our collection:
LearningExpress Library is an outstanding resource for academic and career development with hundreds of online tutorials, practice tests, and ebooks.
The Career Center module includes an ebook and three practice tests to help you prepare for the National Council Licensure Examination for Practical Nurses (NCLEX-PN). You'll also find ebooks to help you with your job search, interviewing, networking, and workplace skills.
The College Students module can help you develop your math, reading, writing, and science skills.