Dakota County Technical College Library

Dental Assistant Subject Guide

Online Reference

Reference books and online resources like Access Science, Britannica Academic, and Salem Online are great for improving your background knowledge on almost any topic. These resources also provide images and videos, which you can use to liven up your papers and presentations.

 

Access Science

 

Britannica Academic

 

Salem Online

Evaluating Web Sources
Cite Your Sources

Writing Center

 

The Writing Center offers writing help to all DCTC students, including help with citing your sources. You can schedule an appointment by calling 651-423-8420 or visiting the Learning Center, room 2-141L.

 

How to Cite Your Sources

 

There are different styles for citing the sources you use in your assignments. Your instructor will let you know whether to use APA, Chicago, MLA, or some other style.

 

Here are some introductory guides to these styles from the Purdue Online Writing Lab:

   

Our catalog and most databases provide citations for the books, videos, and articles you find in them. Just look for a link that says Cite or Citation, then select the appropriate style. It's easy to copy and paste citations into your bibliography!

 

Avoid Plagiarism

 

"Plagiarism includes, but is not limited to, the use, by paraphrase or direct quotation, of the published or unpublished work of another person without full and clear acknowledgment. It also includes the unacknowledged use of materials prepared by another person or agency engaged in the selling of term papers or other academic materials."

 

This definition of plagiarism comes from page 1 of DCTC's Student Code of Conduct. See how easy that was?

 

Citing your sources is an essential step in the research process. This allows others to verify your information and gives credit to previous researchers and writers for their hard work.

Your Librarian

Michael Kirby


Michael.Kirby@dctc.edu

651-423-8406

Follow the Library on Social Media
Library Hours

During Stay-At-Home Order:

Library staff are available remotely at library@dctc.edu, 651-423-8366, and Zoom (email for appointments) during our regular spring semester hours. The physical library is currently closed.

 

Fall & Spring Semesters:

Monday - Thursday:
7:30 AM to 5:00 PM
Friday:
7:30 AM to 3:30 PM

 

Summer Sessions:

Monday - Thursday:
8:00 AM to 1:00 PM

About This Guide

Welcome to the DCTC Library's Dental Assistant subject guide. This guide will help you to

 
  • find online reference resources
  • find books, videos, ebooks, and streaming videos
  • find magazine, journal, and newspaper articles
  • identify trustworthy information on the web
  • and cite your sources

In the Library

We have many books about dentistry and dental assisting in our collection. Some of these are reference books which must be used in the Library, but they'll always be here when you need them.

 

Find Books & Videos

Our Catalog: OneSearch

 

Use our catalog, OneSearch, to find the books and videos on our shelves, plus ebooks and streaming videos. Our EBSCO eBook Collection includes more than 214,000 ebooks, many of which have to do with dentistry. Our Films On Demand collection includes nearly 45,000 streaming videos.

 

 

 

The best way to begin your search is to enter one or two keywords on your topic. To narrow your results, use the Modify Search options on the right side of the screen. You can also click on a relevant title and click on one of its subject headings to focus your search on that particular topic.

 

Our collection is organized by Library of Congress call numbers. If you like to browse, most books and videos about dentistry are shelved in the RK call number range. Ask a librarian if you need help finding anything.

 

Interlibrary Loan

 

If we don't have what you're looking for, you can expand your search to include all libraries in the Minnesota State system or even all libraries in Minnesota. You can request books, videos, and articles from other libraries through interlibrary loan (ILL) and we'll e-mail you when the items are ready to pick up here at the DCTC Library. Ask a librarian if you have any questions.

Find Articles

We have online access to the journal through EBSCO (2004 to present) and Gale (2002 to present).

 

Below you'll find just a few of our many Online Resources for finding magazine, newspaper, and journal articles. The best way to begin your search is to enter one or two keywords on your topic. Each database is different, but there will be ways to limit and focus your results so that you find the most relevant and useful articles available.

 

EBSCO Our EBSCO databases are an excellent place to start your search for magazine and journal articles.
 
Gale Our Gale databases are another great place to find magazine and journal articles.
 
PubMedSearch more than 30 million citations from biomedical and life science sources with PubMed. Some citations include links to full-text content.
 
Google ScholarSearch and explore scholarly literature with Google Scholar. Some citations include links to full-text content.
 

 

Please visit the Library or contact us if you have any questions about our online resources or if you'd like help finding articles on your topic.​

Selected Ebooks
LearningExpress Library
LearningExpress Library
 

LearningExpress Library is an outstanding resource for academic and career development with hundreds of online tutorials, practice tests, and ebooks.

 

The Career Center module includes an ebook and two practice tests to help you prepare for the Dental Assisting Exam (both CDA and RDA). You'll also find ebooks to help you with your job search, interviewing, networking, and workplace skills.


Dental Assisting Exam
 

The College Center module can help you develop your math, reading, writing, and science skills.

Pinterest

Check out our Dental Assistant board on Pinterest! Feel free to send us pins that you think would benefit the DCTC community and check back often!


Powered by SubjectsPlus