Here are some useful guides to help you evaluate information you find on the web:
The Writing Center offers writing help to all DCTC students, including help with citing your sources. You can schedule an appointment by calling 651-423-8420 or visiting the Learning Center, room 2-141L.
How to Cite Your Sources
There are different styles for citing the sources you use in your assignments. Your instructor will let you know whether to use APA, Chicago, MLA, or some other style.
Here are some introductory guides to these styles from the Purdue Online Writing Lab:
- Purdue OWL: APA Formatting and Style Guide
- Purdue OWL: Chicago Manual of Style 16th Edition
- Purdue OWL: MLA Formatting and Style Guide
Our catalog and most databases provide citations for the books, videos, and articles you find in them. Just look for a link that says Cite or Citation, then select the appropriate style. It's easy to copy and paste citations into your bibliography!
"Plagiarism includes, but is not limited to, the use, by paraphrase or direct quotation, of the published or unpublished work of another person without full and clear acknowledgment. It also includes the unacknowledged use of materials prepared by another person or agency engaged in the selling of term papers or other academic materials."
This definition of plagiarism comes from page 1 of DCTC's Student Code of Conduct. See how easy that was?
Citing your sources is an essential step in the research process. This allows others to verify your information and gives credit to previous researchers and writers for their hard work.
Fall & Spring Semesters:
Monday - Thursday:
7:30 AM to 6:00 PM
7:30 AM to 3:30 PM
Monday - Thursday:
8:00 AM to 1:00 PM
Welcome to the DCTC Library's Principles of Marketing course guide. This guide will help you to
- find online reference resources
- find books, videos, ebooks, and streaming videos
- find magazine, journal, and newspaper articles
- identify trustworthy information on the web
- and cite your sources
For a basic introduction to the resources and services available from the DCTC Library, please see our Library 101 guide.
MnPALS Plus: Our Catalog
Use our catalog, MnPALS Plus, to find books and videos in our collection, as well as ebooks and streaming videos.
The best way to begin your search is to enter one or two keywords on your topic. To narrow your results, use the Modify Search options on the right side of the screen. You can also click on a relevant title and click on one of its subject headings to focus your search on that particular topic.
Our collection is organized by Library of Congress call numbers. If you like to browse, most books and videos about marketing are shelved in the HF5410-5417.5 call number range. Ask a librarian if you need help finding anything.
If we don't have what you're looking for, you can expand your search to include all libraries in the MnPALS system. You can request items from other libraries through interlibrary loan (ILL). You'll receive a notice when the items are ready to pick up here at the DCTC Library.
Films on Demand
Films On Demand offers nearly 50,000 streaming videos, which you can also find in our catalog.
EBSCO eBooks Collection
Below you'll find just a few of our many Online Resources for finding magazine, newspaper, and journal articles. The best way to begin your search is to enter one or two keywords on your topic. Each database is different, but there will be ways to limit and focus your results so that you find the most relevant and useful articles available.
Please visit the Library or contact us if you have any questions about our databases or if you'd like help finding articles on your topic.
Our EBSCO databases are an excellent place to search for magazine and journal articles. One of these databases, Business Source Premier, offers full-text articles from more than 2,300 business journals, company profiles, country reports, industry profiles, and market research reports.
Our Gale databases are another great place to find magazine and journal articles.
Search nearly 2,800 newspapers, newswires, and news sites with ProQuest Global Newsstream.
Find full-text articles, legal information, and business content from more than 15,000 sources using LexisNexis Academic.
If you have a citation for an article from a specific publication, use Journal Finder to see if we have access to the full text.
Business Source Premier features the full text for more than 2,300 journals in all business disciplines. Coverage includes marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, and economics. Additional non-journal content includes company profiles, country reports, industry profiles, market research reports, and SWOT analyses.
LexisNexis Academic features full-text articles, legal information, and business content from more than 15,000 sources. You'll find information on more than 80 million companies and a Company Dossier that helps you to create company lists and compare companies.
LearningExpress Library is an outstanding resource for academic and career development with hundreds of online tutorials, practice tests, and ebooks.
The Computer Skills Center module includes video courses on Microsoft Access, Excel, and other Office programs.
The Career Center module includes ebooks to help you with your job search, interviewing, networking, and workplace skills.
The College Center module can help you develop your math, reading, writing, and science skills.
Leading Edge Marketing : Turning Technology Into Value
Veronica A. Williams, 2014
Herding Cats : A Strategic Approach to Social Media Marketing
Andrew Rohm, 2014
Consumer Marketing 2016-2017
Richard K. Miller, 2016
Check out our Business Marketing board on Pinterest! Feel free to send us pins that you think would benefit the DCTC community and check back often!