Dakota County Technical College Library

Databases A-Z

Databases
ABCDEFGHIJLMNOPRSTUVWNumAll

Academic Search Premier
Full-text articles from more than 4,600 journals on all subjects.
Restricted Resource elm
AccessScience
Articles, biographies, and multimedia on science and technology.
Restricted Resource
Addictions, Substance Abuse & Alcoholism
An encyclopedia with 329 articles on addiction and substance abuse.
Restricted Resource eref
Adolescent Health & Wellness
An encyclopedia with 483 articles on adolescent health and wellness.
Restricted Resource eref
Adult Core Skills
The Adult Core Skills center helps adults achieve their personal, education, and career goals by offering resources to help them improve their basic skills in reading, writing, and math, and prepare for the U.S. citizenship exam.
Restricted Resource elm
All EBSCO databases
Choose from any of 15 EBSCO databases or search all at once.
Restricted Resource
All Gale databases
Choose from over 50 Gale databases or search all at once.
Restricted Resource
Alt Health Watch
Full-text articles and reports on complementary and alternative medicine.
Restricted Resource elm
Applied Science
An encyclopedia with 313 articles on applied sciences in areas such as aerospace, communications, energy, information, medical, military, transportation, forensic, and food technologies.
Restricted Resource eref
Artstor
Over one million freely accessible images, videos, documents, and audio files.
BBC Learning English
English lessons and resources for ESL students.
Biography (Gale In Context)
Information on the world's most influential people.
Restricted Resource
Biography and Genealogy Master Index
More than 1,000 volumes and editions full of biographical entries with current and retrospective reference sources. Over 15 million biographies on 5 million people.
Restricted Resource
Biomes & Ecosystems
An encyclopedia with 552 articles on the biology, geography, history and ecological importance of biomes and ecosystems around the world.
Restricted Resource
Bloomsbury Architecture Library
Over 40 eBooks on architecture, architectural history, theory, design, urbanism, landscape, and interiors.
Restricted Resource
Britannica Academic
An encyclopedia, dictionary, thesaurus, and other research tools.
Restricted Resource elm eref
Business Collection
Database covering all business disciplines such as accounting, economics, finance, marketing, business theory and practice.
Restricted Resource
Business Economics & Theory Collection
Covers topics in economic and related fields with an emphasis on titles in the AEA's EconLit bibliography.
Restricted Resource
Business Insights: Global
Company and industry profiles including SWOT reports, market share reports and financial reports as well as company histories, industry essays, case studies and business news for research of global economies.
Restricted Resource
Business Source Premier
Full-text articles from more than 2,300 business journals, plus company profiles and reports.
Restricted Resource elm
Business USA
Business resources and opportunities. 
Cancer, 2nd ed.
An encyclopedia with more than 900 articles on cancer. 
Restricted Resource eref
Career Preparation
Are you preparing for a professional exam? Are you curious about a particular occupation or looking to improve your workplace skills? Choose the Career Preparation Center and begin your path to a bright future.
Restricted Resource elm
Chiltonlibrary.com
Authoritative auto repair information on the most popular vehicles of the past thirty years, plus specialty models.
Restricted Resource
Chronicle of Higher Education
News, information, and job listings aimed at college and university faculty members and administrators. 
Restricted Resource
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Full-text articles from more than 770 nursing and allied health journals. 
College Students
Strengthen your academic skills and prepare for placement tests and graduate school entrance exams.
Restricted Resource elm
Community & Family Health Issues
An encyclopedia with nearly 500 articles on community and family health issues.
Restricted Resource eref
Complementary & Alternative Medicine
An encyclopedia with 783 articles on complementary and alternative medicine.
Restricted Resource eref
Computer Science (Gale OneFile)
Gale OneFile: Computer Science provides access to leading business and technical publications in the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries. The database provides information on computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas like hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications, and the application of technology.
Restricted Resource
Computer Skills Center
Use the materials in the Computer Skills Center to learn the basics of computers, from searching the Internet to using popular software programs for word processing, creating spreadsheets and databases, implementing design and more.
Restricted Resource elm
Consumer Health Complete
Full-text articles, reference ebooks, reports, images, and videos on health and medicine.
Restricted Resource elm
Contemporary Womens Issues
Current and relevant backfile full texts on topics relevant to women around the world including civil rights, health, education, professional development and entrepreneurship.
Restricted Resource
Culinary Arts Collection
Scholarly works covering all aspects of cooking and nutrition. Includes searchable recipes and restaurant reviews.
Restricted Resource
Dakota County Library - Research Tools A-Z
Databases provided by the Dakota County Library.
Dakota County Library Catalog
Search for materials from all 10 branches of the Dakota County Library Sytem.
Digital Public Library of America
Over 33 million images, texts, videos and sounds from American history archives.
Earth Science: Earth Materials & Resources
An encyclopedia with 125 articles on the material world in which we live and the uses to which those materials can be put.
Restricted Resource eref
Earth Science: Earth's Surface & History
An encyclopedia with 125 articles on the land masses and seas of the world.
Restricted Resource eref
Earth Science: Earth's Weather, Water & Atmosphere
An encyclopedia with 125 articles on the fluids on the surface of the earth and the gasses that surround us.
Restricted Resource eref
Earth Science: Physics & Chemistry of Earth
An encyclopedia with 125 articles on the dynamics of the earth's mass and how its chemistry produces change.
Restricted Resource eref
Ebooks Minnesota
An online ebook collection for all Minnesotans.
elm ebook
EBSCO databases
Choose from any of 15 EBSCO databases or search all at once.
Restricted Resource
EBSCO eBook Collection
More than 201,000 ebooks on all subjects. 
Restricted Resource
Educator's Reference Complete
Full-text articles from more than 450 education journals, plus reports and reference sources.
Restricted Resource elm
Encyclopedia of Climate Change
An encyclopedia with 551 articles on global warming and climate change.
Restricted Resource eref
Encyclopedia of Energy
An encyclopedia with 585 articles on energy.
Restricted Resource eref
Encyclopedia of Environmental Issues
An encyclopedia with 772 articles on environmental issues including biology, geology, anthropology, demographics, genetics, and engineering.
Restricted Resource eref
Encyclopedia of Mathematics & Society
An encyclopedia with 490 articles on the math behind our daily lives, allowing readers to better understand how disciplines such as algebra, geometry, calculus, and others affect what we do every day.
Restricted Resource eref
ERIC
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and research.
Restricted Resource elm
Films on Demand
Over 100,000 streaming videos on all subjects. 
Restricted Resource
Fine Arts & Music Collection
Scholarly research in areas such as drama, music, art history and filmmaking.
Restricted Resource
Gale Academic OneFile
Millions of articles from scholarly journals and other authoritative sources with extensive coverage in key subject areas such as biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, and psychology.
Restricted Resource
Gale databases
Choose from over 50 Gale databases or search all at once.
Restricted Resource
Gale eBooks
39 reference ebooks on the arts, biography, business, education, environment, history, law, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, nations of the world, religion, science, and social science.
Restricted Resource
Gale General OneFile
News, magazines and articles on a variety of general interest and academic topics.
Restricted Resource
Gale In Context: Biography
Information on the world's most influential people.
Restricted Resource
Gale in Context: College
Full-text articles, reference ebooks, primary sources, and multimedia on all subjects. 
Restricted Resource
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints
Information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
Restricted Resource
Gale In Context: Science
Contextual information on hundreds of current science topics.
Restricted Resource
Gale In Context: U.S. History
Information on hundreds of the most significant people, places, topics, and events in U.S. history.
Restricted Resource
Gale In Context: World History
Information on hundreds of the most significant people, events, and topics in world history.
Restricted Resource
Gale Literature: Book Review Index
Comprehensive guide to book reviews including more than 630,000 full text reviews.
Restricted Resource
Gale OneFile: Agriculture
Articles covering all aspects agriculture, from practical aspects of farming to new research in horticulture.
Restricted Resource
Gale OneFile: Communications and Mass Media
Articles on all aspects of the field of communications including advertising, public relations, literature and writing and linguistics.
Restricted Resource
Gale OneFile: Computer Science
Gale OneFile: Computer Science provides access to leading business and technical publications in the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries. The database provides information on computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas like hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications, and the application of technology.
Restricted Resource
Gale OneFile: Criminal Justice
Academic journals and magazines on topics of criminal justice, including law enforcement, security and terrorism.
Restricted Resource
Gale OneFile: Diversity Studies
Scholarly journals and magazines that explore cultural differences, contributions and influences on the global community.
Restricted Resource
Gale OneFile: Educator's Reference Complete
Full-text articles from more than 450 education journals, plus reports and reference sources.
Restricted Resource elm
Gale OneFile: Entrepreneurship
Database for both business students and entrepreneurs with insights, tips, strategies and success stories.
Restricted Resource
Gale OneFile: Environmental Studies and Policy
Reference sources on environmental issues and policies with perspectives from scientists, policymakers and corporate interests.
Restricted Resource
Gale OneFile: Gardening and Horticulture
Gardening and Horticulture focuses on the practical aspects and the scientific theory of horticulture studies. Gardening and Horticulture offers biotechnologists, farmers, hobbyists, and landscape architects access to important content relevant to their pursuits.
Restricted Resource
Gale OneFile: Gender Studies
Scholarly journals and magazines covering topics related to gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
Restricted Resource
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine
Information created specifically for students, knowledgeable consumer health researchers, and health care professionals. This database is the perfect resource for up-to-date information on a complete range of healthcare topics.
Restricted Resource
Gale OneFile: LegalTrac
Articles from law reviews, legal newspapers, specialty publications, Bar Association journals, and international legal journals. This database offers coverage of federal and state cases, laws and regulations, legal practice and taxation, and British Commonwealth, European Union, and international law.
Restricted Resource
Gale OneFile: Military and Intelligence
Scholarly journals, magazines and reports covering all aspects of past and present military affairs.
Restricted Resource
Gale OneFile: Pop Culture Studies
Scholarly journals and magazines analyzing and contributing to popular culture. 
Restricted Resource
Gale OneFile: Psychology
Academic journals and magazines covering the study of emotions, personality and the human mind.
Restricted Resource
Gale OneFile: Religion and Philosophy
Scholarly journals and magazines covering topics across a wide range of philosophies and religions.
Restricted Resource
Gale OneFile: War and Terrorism
Balanced coverage of historic and contemporary topics on war and terrorism.
Restricted Resource
General Science Collection
A collection of over 200 journals, providing researchers with the information needed to stay current on the latest scientific developments -- including such topics as particle physics, advanced mathematics, and nanotechnology.
Restricted Resource
Genetics & Inherited Conditions
An encyclopedia with 459 articles on genetics and inherited conditions.
Restricted Resource eref
Global Issues in Context
International viewpoints on a broad range of global issues.
Restricted Resource
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to search for scholarly literature. 
Restricted Resource
GreenFile
Citations and abstracts for more than 612,000 records on the environment. 
Restricted Resource
GREENR (Global Reference on the Environment/Energy/and Natural Resources)
Physical, social and economic aspects of environmental issues including energy systems, health care, agriculture, climate change, population and economic development.
Restricted Resource
Health & Wellness Resource Center
Thousands of full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works and multimedia providing information on a full range of health issues from disease and disorder information to alternative medical practices.
Restricted Resource
Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile)
Information created specifically for students, knowledgeable consumer health researchers, and health care professionals. This database is the perfect resource for up-to-date information on a complete range of healthcare topics.
Restricted Resource
Health Source: Consumer Edition
Full-text articles from more than 80 consumer health magazines, plus reports and reference sources. 
Restricted Resource
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Full-text articles from nearly 550 medical journals. 
Restricted Resource
Historical Encyclopedia of American Business
An encyclopedia with 478 articles on the history of American business.
Restricted Resource eref
Hospitality, Tourism & Leisure Collection
Database covering cultural and economic aspects of travel and tourism both historic and current.
Restricted Resource
Infectious Diseases & Conditions
An encyclopedia with 632 articles on infectious diseases and their prevention.
Restricted Resource eref
Information Science & Library Issues
Database covering topics of information infrastructure, medata architecture, publishing, etc.
Restricted Resource
INFORME ACADEMICO
Scholarly journals and magazines in Spanish and Portuguese.
Restricted Resource
InfoTrac Newsstand
Full-text, searchable newspaper database.
Restricted Resource
Job & Career Accelerator
Whether you’re looking to find a new job in your current field or pursue a career in an exciting new industry, Job & Career Accelerator has the powerful tools and expert guidance to help you through every step of the process to succeed in today's job market.
Restricted Resource elm
LearningExpress Library
Tutorials, practice tests, and information to help develop academic and career-related skills. 
Restricted Resource elm
LearningExpress Library - Adult Core Skills
The Adult Core Skills center helps adults achieve their personal, education, and career goals by offering resources to help them improve their basic skills in reading, writing, and math, and prepare for the U.S. citizenship exam.
Restricted Resource elm
LearningExpress Library - Career Preparation
Are you preparing for a professional exam? Are you curious about a particular occupation or looking to improve your workplace skills? Choose the Career Preparation Center and begin your path to a bright future.
Restricted Resource elm
LearningExpress Library - College Students
Strengthen your academic skills and prepare for placement tests and graduate school entrance exams.
Restricted Resource elm
LearningExpress Library - Computer Skills Center
Use the materials in the Computer Skills Center to learn the basics of computers, from searching the Internet to using popular software programs for word processing, creating spreadsheets and databases, implementing design and more.
Restricted Resource elm
LearningExpress Library - Job & Career Accelerator
Whether you’re looking to find a new job in your current field or pursue a career in an exciting new industry, Job & Career Accelerator has the powerful tools and expert guidance to help you through every step of the process to succeed in today's job market.
Restricted Resource elm
LegalTrac (Gale OneFile)
Articles from law reviews, legal newspapers, specialty publications, Bar Association journals, and international legal journals. This database offers coverage of federal and state cases, laws and regulations, legal practice and taxation, and British Commonwealth, European Union, and international law.
Restricted Resource
Library Guides
Library Guides for various subjects and courses taught at DCTC. 
Restricted Resource
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
Full-text articles and reports on libraries and information science.
Restricted Resource
Literature Resource Center
Biographical information, overviews, literary criticism and reviews of more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines.
Restricted Resource
LitFinder
Access to literary works and authors throughout history. Includes more than 130,000 full-text poems as well as short stories, speeches and plays. Also includes secondary materials like biographies.
Restricted Resource
Magill's Medical Guide
An encyclopedia with 1,289 articles on diseases, treatments, anatomy, biology, and medical issues.
Restricted Resource eref
Mango Languages
Language courses for 72 foreign languages and ESL courses in 19 languages. 
Restricted Resource
MasterFILE Premier
Full-text articles and other resources on all general interest subjects. 
Restricted Resource
Merriam-Webster Learner's Dictionary
American English dictionary and practice for ESL students.
eref
Merriam-Webster Online
Free online dictionary and thesaurus.
Minnesota Compass
Data on various topics concerning Minnesota communities. 
Minnesota Public Health Data Access
Health and environment data from the Minnesota Department of Health. 
Nursing & Allied Health Collection
Coverage of all aspects of the nursing profession including patient care and health care administration.
Restricted Resource
Nutrition
An encyclopedia with 255 articles on nutrition. 
Restricted Resource eref
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context)
Information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
Restricted Resource
Physical Therapy & Sports Collection
Articles on fitnes and sports medicine including treatment techniques and experimental research.
Restricted Resource
Points of View Reference Center
Full-text articles and other resources on more than 500 current issues and controversial topics.
Restricted Resource
Professional Collection
Full-text articles from more than 300 journals for educators. 
Restricted Resource
Professional Development Collection
Full-text articles from more than 500 education journals.
Restricted Resource
ProQuest Global Newsstream
Full-text articles from nearly 1,800 newspapers, newswires, and news sites. 
Restricted Resource
PsycARTICLES
Full-text articles from more than 80 psychology journals. 
Restricted Resource
Psychology & Behavioral Health
An encyclopedia with 690 articles on psychology and behavioral health.
Restricted Resource eref
PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Purdue OWL: English as a Second Language
Resources for ESL students and instructors. 
Regional Business News
Full-text articles from more than 80 business publications. 
Restricted Resource
Salem Online
Full text from all of our Salem Press, Reference Shelf series, and Grey House reference ebooks.
Restricted Resource
Science Reference Center
Full-text articles and reference content in all areas of science. 
Restricted Resource
Student Edition
Magazines, newspapers, books and other reference materials for high school students.
Restricted Resource
Swank Digital Campus
Streaming movies. 
Restricted Resource
Teacher Reference Center
Citations and abstracts for nearly 300 periodicals on education. 
The 50 States
An encyclopedia with articles on each of the 50 states and the District of Columbia.
Restricted Resource eref
The Reference Shelf
Articles about important topics in modern society. 
Restricted Resource
The Value of a Dollar: 1860-2014
Prices of thousands of items from the Civil War to the present.
Restricted Resource eref
U.S. History (Gale In Context)
Information on hundreds of the most significant people, places, topics, and events in U.S. history.
Restricted Resource
US History Collection
Scholarly journals and magazines covering events in U.S. history.
Restricted Resource
Vocations/Careers & Technical Education Collection
Database with research on vocations, learning institutions and job searching in specialized industry.
Restricted Resource
Women's Health
An encyclopedia with nearly 300 articles on women's health.
Restricted Resource eref
World Cat
Search for materials from libraries all over the world. 
Restricted Resource
World History (Gale In Context)
Information on hundreds of the most significant people, events, and topics in world history.
Restricted Resource
World History Collection
Database covering events and scholarly work in the field of world history.
Restricted Resource
World Scholar: Latin America and the Caribbean Regional Portal Subscription
Primary source documents about Latin America and the Caribbean as well as academic journals, news feeds, reference articles, maps and statistics. 
Restricted Resource
Questions?
Search Databases


Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Campus Faculty, Staff & Students only
Help guide = Click for help guide (.pdf or .html)
SFX Findit = OpenURL Enabled
Some full text available = Some full text
Resource includes images = Images
Resource includes video = Video files
Resource includes audio = Audio files
ELM = ELM
eRef = eRef
eBook = eBook
Databases = Databases



Powered by SubjectsPlus